Uncategorized

First Kiss

image

My first kiss wasn’t perfect…
It was beyond perfect.
I was in the sixth grade when I moved from my hometown with my family. We moved away because my mother lost her job, and had found one in another city. All my friends had said it was nice where we were headed because of the bright lights at night, and all the nice people. But I didn’t believe them until I started school and saw all the cute guys in my class.
I was 12 and my hormones were already acting up!
Too bad no one liked the too skinny, no money girl from uptown except all the other awkward kids that made me feel welcome. I made a few friends from the self established awkward kids club, like Marcus who I sat beside in class.
One day when i was sitting alone during recess when Marcus was at home sick, one of the cool kids; a very good looking chubby little guy, came and sat beside me and asked if I would like  to share his sandwich with him. I was shy not because he was cute, but because I knew how the sharing worked: He’d share some of his food and I’d share mine too. I had 0 sandwiches in my lunch box. All i had was some broccoli which i had already eaten and a juice box. I carried my lunch box out everyday because I didn’t want anyone to know that some days, like today, it was empty, while on other days it had leftovers from the previous day; dry and cold.
I was looking down at my lunchbox as dry tears fell off my face. I looked up at him when he touched my arm, to show me that he had two sandwiches we could share and a hot dog. He gave me one turkey sandwich and half of a hot dog. I gave him my juice box that I had bought on the way to school with the 2 dollars I had saved from the previous day.
He smiled at me and we started talking about our favorite books and cartoons. I told him Ed Edd and Eddy was endgame and he replied that he was more of a Kids Next Door fan. I suddenly loved it too just from hearing him talk about it.
He made me laugh a lot.
He said he liked my smile and that I should use it more. I was blushing now. I knew I was because I could feel my cheeks get warm.
The bell to end recess was almost ringing. I felt sad knowing our time together was almost over. He would go back to the cool kids and I would go back to living in my lonely mind.
He took my hand and he led me towards the end of the block. I was surprised that a cool kid was holding my hand in front of everyone.
We stopped suddenly and he kissed me on the lips.
It was fast and light; I thought I had imagined it. However, the blush on his cheeks made me know it wasn’t imagined. None of this was.
I asked him where he’d learned that from and he told me he’d seen his brother in college kissing his girlfriend.
After the kiss, we stood there smiling and holding hands. Some little kids were running around us, but I didn’t notice them until the bell rang and ruined the moment.
“I’ll see you later?” He asked before he walked off
“Yes later,” I replied shyly.

Then he smiled and walked off.
At least he didn’t say bye.

Which meant there was a later for us, and that was more than enough for me.

6 thoughts on “First Kiss

Leave a comment